Melbourne Victory Register First Win With 1-0 Defeat Of Newcastle Jets

Melbourne Victory recorded their first win of the new Hyundai A-League season, after defeating Newcastle Jets 1-0 in a Grand Final rematch on Saturday in a game of two halves at McDonald Jones Stadium.

The Jets controlled the first half with their energetic pressing, having 10 of the first 12 shots, but they ultimately failed to capitalise on their chances.

Neither side came out threatening in the second half. Victory finally broke the deadlock in the 71st minute after Keisuke Honda’s pass found Terry Antonis just outside the box, where he blasted the ball into the bottom corner from 25 yards.

Perth Glory had their first win of the season after a 2-1 defeat of Brisbane Roar in front of nearly 10,000 fans at nib Stadium.

Andy Keogh opened the scoring in the 15th minute after a perfect set up cross from Chris Ikonomidis only needed a Keogh tap in.

Their 2nd came midway through the second half, after a Scott Neville pass, Keogh got the better of Roar’s defence before unleashing a low strike that deflected in off Connor O’Toole, for an own goal.

Roar pulled one back after Taggart was brought down in the box by Tomislav Mrcela. Former Perth striker Adam Taggart scored from the spot to the boos of his old fans but the visitors failed to find the equaliser.

Meanwhile, Sunday’s match between Central Coast Mariners and Adelaide United saw the visitors dream week end 3-0 in Gosford.

Craig Goodwin scored a brace and provided an assist for Apostolos Stamatelopoulos to help Marco Kurz’s men their first victory of the A-League season, following their FFA Cup Final win on Tuesday.

At the end of Matchday 3 Sydney FC were at the top of the Hyundai A-League table, followed by Perth Glory and Adelaide United.