Sydney FC Secure Premiers’ Plates After 3-2 win over Perth Glory

Sydney FC coach Graham Arnold was beaming with pride after the Sky Blues made history as the first A-League team to secure successive Premiers’ Plates, following a 3-2 win over Perth Glory at nib Stadium last Thursday.

The result put the Sky Blues 11 points clear of nearest rivals Newcastle Jets and with just nine competition points available, there is no chance of catching them.

It was memorable night with records being record broken. Striker Bobo broke the competition’s scoring record for the regular season with his 23rd and 24th goals, overtaking the record set by Melbourne City’s Bruno Fornaroli’s 23, two seasons ago.

In claiming the Hyundai A-League Premiership, Sydney FC have also guaranteed their place in the AFC Champions League 2019 competition.

“We’ve just created history – first time in 23 years a club in this country has gone back-to-back,” Arnold said post-match.

“We’re not done yet, we’ve still got records to chase and that’s how we’re motivating the boys and getting momentum going into the finals.

“We’ve been the most consistent side over two seasons and with a high turnover in the squad. Losing Vukovic, Holosko, Dimitrijevic and Rhyan Grant through injury; we’ve had to do it the hard way.

“I couldn’t be prouder of the boys, they’re a fantastic group of players. It’s all about now getting better and better with each performance.”

Sydney had gone ahead in the 12th minute through Adrian Mierzejewski, who smashed the ball in from close range.

Bobo went next in the 29th minute after Simon won a penalty for a foul by Djulbic, which the Brazilian fired into the bottom corner, before scoring another 10 minutes later.

Perth’s Adam Taggart came off the bench to score a brace on the 72nd and 89th minute, but it wasn’t enough to save them from defeat which ended a four-game winning streak at home.